Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Loor.TV: Fight Feminism with Stories

The founders of an exciting new streaming network discuss how great stories (and new technology) can change the world.

Marcus Pittman and Jason Farley are the Founders of Loor.TV, a new streaming platform that lets subscribers use their monthly fees to fund the movies and TV shows they want to see.

It’s such an interesting idea, it might even get me to start watching TV again.

Topics discussed:

  • How loor works vs. Netflix

  • Boomers Spending Attention Rather Than Money

  • Not Outsourcing to Developers in India

  • The Origins of MTV and the Discovery Channel

  • How the Christian Film Industry Runs

  • The Feminization of Content and Culture

  • Christian Culture Competing in the Free Market

For more about Loor, please visit:

https://loor.tv

Listen to the full episode, ad-free:

0:00
-2:25:14

Monologue:

Do you like to watch?

Streaming networks, I mean. Ever since the COVID lockdowns, streaming services have exploded in popularity: Netflix, Hulu, HBO Max, Disney+, Amazon Prime, and more.

The idea behind them was that they were supposed to disrupt the big broadcasters.

No longer would you be a servant to the corporate overlords at the cable networks, who told you what you should watch! You could stream any show you wanted, on demand. The power of a generation’s worth of video entertainment in the palm of your hand. Take that, reptilian Illuminati lizard people!

There’s just one problem. We all met the new boss, who was the same as the old boss.

Sure, you could choose whatever you wanted to watch. But if the limits of acceptable content were determined by boardroom executives, and the producers, directors, and writers of the content were all on board with THE MESSAGE, then yes, you could watch anything you wanted.

As long as it was all the same thing deep down.

We all feel it: the tension of enjoying a show while having to be on guard for the next bit of woke propaganda, whether it be in the form of a diversity hire casting choice, messaging that sticks out like a sore thumb, or the overall thrust of the story suddenly being about lesbian girl bosses from outer space being the driving force behind everything that’s ever happened in anything, ever.

This has led to a vacuum in the media space, as people who are old enough to remember these things called “stories” go looking for them and find little out there.

Now, I’m not a TV guy. I’m a book guy. There are three things I’m not very good at: rock climbing, cold showers, and watching TV. However, I did enjoy shows like *Breaking Bad* and *The Walking Dead* before I became a Christian. And perhaps I don’t watch much TV because I know there’s so little out there that will pass my new radical right-wing extremist standards, where I don’t want to see wokeness, graphic and gratuitous violence, sex scenes, swearing, or anything like that. Because, frankly, I don’t think they’re necessary to telling good stories. And as far as the streaming networks are concerned, I’m an outlier.

So what if there was a streaming network where I could choose not only what I watch and when, but also what’s available on the platform to begin with? What if I could vote with my dollars AND my time? What if I could truly disrupt the network giants, who merely transformed into the streaming giants, leading me to switch off that whole world entirely?

Well, I have good news. It seems to me like that opportunity might just be out there.

Which brings me to my guests this week, Marcus Pittman and Jason Farley from Loor.TV.

Loor is a new streaming network with a new model that works as I described: not only can viewers choose the shows they want to watch, but they can also use their subscription money to fund the shows they want to see. Reptilian Illuminati in boardrooms aren’t choosing the programming and farming it out to DEI production teams. Instead, talented filmmakers and ambitious creators develop their ideas, pitch them to Loor, and then you, the viewer, get to decide if you want to help fund it. You’re not just a passive consumer; you’re an active participant in the process.

One of the cool things about this platform is that Loor developed their own technology to make it possible. And from my time in the startup world, I know how hard and expensive that is. It’s always faster, cheaper, and easier to build with off-the-shelf tech. But it doesn’t last.

Investing the time, energy, and vision to build something unique and that does exactly what you want it to do is what separates the men from the boys when it comes to technology entrepreneurship.

And that’s what Marcus and Jason describe here in this interview. It’s cool for me to hear about because it weaves together so many different themes of my life and reminds me of my exciting days in my own version of the startup garage.

If it succeeds, I might even start watching TV again. Now that would be a feat.

In our conversation, we discussed:

  • How Loor works vs. Netflix

  • Boomers Spending Attention Rather Than Money

  • Not Outsourcing to Developers in India

  • Acquiring Cultural Capital

  • The Origins of MTV and the Discovery Channel

  • How the Christian Film Industry Runs

  • The Feminization of Content and Culture

  • Christian Culture Competing in the Free Market

If you enjoy the Renaissance of Men Podcast, thank you. Please leave us a 5-star rating on Spotify, and a 5-star rating and review on Apple Podcasts.

If this is your first time here, welcome. I release new episodes about the Christian counterculture, masculine virtue, and the family every week.

[…]

And please welcome this week’s guests on the podcast, the founders of a new streaming service that lets you truly decide what you want to watch, Marcus Pittman and Jason Farley from Loor.

0 Comments